“Collagen jelly stick” tells you the format, not what’s actually in it. The six products in our where-to-buy guide span three different collagen sources and a wide dose range — worth knowing before you compare price tags.
The three collagen types you’ll see
Marine (fish) collagen is the most common source in the Korean imports — BB LAB, Cloo9, and HAMCHOROK all use it. It’s typically hydrolysed into low-molecular-weight peptides, which brands market as “faster absorbing” than larger collagen molecules — plausible in principle, but not something we can independently verify per product without lab data most brands don’t publish.
Bovine collagen shows up in NOW Foods’ Collagen Jelly Beauty Complex, which uses VERISOL — a specific, patented, well-studied bovine peptide (see our evidence roundup for the actual trial data behind it).
Vegan “collagen-support” blends, like YIXO’s, don’t contain collagen at all — there’s no plant source of animal collagen. These use plant-based peptides alongside Vitamin C and hyaluronic acid, marketed as supporting the body’s own collagen production rather than supplying collagen directly. Worth knowing if you’re choosing vegan specifically for ethical reasons rather than assuming it’s nutritionally equivalent.
Correction/addition: EVERYDAZE’s Essential Collagen Solution Jelly Stick — featured elsewhere on this site — is also in this vegan category, using a hibiscus-derived plant collagen booster rather than marine or bovine collagen. We’ve rounded up every vegan option we could verify, with real pricing and sourcing, in a dedicated vegan guide.
The doses, side by side
| Product | Collagen source | Labelled dose |
|---|---|---|
| BB LAB Pomegranate Collagen S | Marine (fish) | ~1,000mg per stick |
| FOODOLOGY Collagen Centella Jelly | As labelled | Not confirmed on the listing |
| Cloo9 Collagen Jelly | Marine (fish) | 5,000mg per stick |
| YIXO Vegan Collagen Jelly | Plant-based (no true collagen) | Not stated as mg |
| NOW Foods Collagen Jelly Beauty Complex | Bovine (VERISOL) | 2.5g (2,500mg) per stick |
| HAMCHOROK Rg+ Pomegranate Collagen Jelly | Marine (fish) | Not stated on the listing |
Two things worth flagging about this table. First, a higher number isn’t automatically “better” — the VERISOL research behind NOW Foods’ product used exactly 2.5g, not 5g, so more collagen isn’t necessarily more effect; it’s simply what that particular brand chose to put in. Second, where we’ve written “not stated,” that’s deliberate — we’re not going to guess a number that isn’t on the label just to fill a table cell.
The other ingredients doing the marketing work
Vitamin C appears in most of these, and for good reason: it’s the one ingredient with an actual authorised UK/EU claim tied to collagen — Vitamin C contributes to normal collagen formation for the normal function of skin. If a product doesn’t list a meaningful Vitamin C amount, that claim doesn’t really apply to it.
Pomegranate concentrate is the flavour base for BB LAB and HAMCHOROK — both use real, substantial Spanish pomegranate concentrate (BB LAB’s labelled at roughly 18,600mg per stick), which does the actual work of making these taste like a fruit snack rather than a supplement.
Centella Asiatica (FOODOLOGY) is a well-known skin-soothing botanical in Korean skincare generally, though its evidence base for ingested use is thinner than its topical use in creams and serums.
Fermented black ginseng (HAMCHOROK) is marketed for immune and metabolic support — claims we don’t repeat, since they go well beyond what’s authorised, but it’s a genuine, traditional ingredient rather than a filler.
The bottom line
None of this tells you whether any specific product “works” beyond the general evidence covered in our does it actually work piece. What it should do is let you compare products by what’s actually in them rather than by packaging alone — a 5,000mg marine collagen stick and a 1,000mg one are not the same purchase, even if both call themselves “collagen jelly.”